The Eva Marsden Centre for Social Justice and Aging is dedicated to restoring humanity and dignity to the experience of growing older in our society. EMC works to improve all aspects of health and well-being while collectively addressing systemic issues that impact daily life.
Until 2021 the Eva Marsden Centre for Social Justice and Aging (EMC) was known as the N.D.G. Senior Citizens’ Council (NDGSCC). In 2021 the organization was re-branded as the Eva Marsden Centre for Social Justice and Aging, in recognition of its’ wider territory and more comprehensive outreach.
EMC provides advocacy for individuals who are 50 years of age and over. We intervene on behalf of individuals who are experiencing roadblocks related to housing, finances, accessing health services or interpersonal difficulties. Our programs are designed to address the social isolation felt by the low-income 50 plus. We create community by providing opportunities for people to interact with their peers.
1

Information and Referral

Individuals are assisted in acquiring information that they may need. Every effort is made to connect them with the appropriate resources as well as to explain the process of accessing government and private services.
2

Boomer Cafe

The Boomer Cafe is a collaboration between EMC and The Depot. It offers a weekly drop-in center for the low-income 50+. This program aims to improve the quality of life of boomers and lift the spirits of its members by offering a healthy meal, yoga, outings, cultural and educational activities as well as monthly bartering of household items and clothing. The Boomer Cafe gives participants the opportunity to learn new skills and to share their skills with other group members, as well as both give and receive support from their peer
3

Individual Advocacy

Individual advocacy serves as a bridge between seniors and the formal public sector. Whether it is about waiting for a social worker to be assigned or someone in need of an air conditioner or dentures our advocate works towards a solution that is effective, prompt and empowering. Assessments are carried out and a short-term intervention plan is created. With extensive wait lists for many public sector departments this service provides critical support in a timely and caring manne

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

STAY CONNECTED

CONTACTS

(514) 484-1471

fax: (514) 484-1687

ndgcc@ndg.ca

Main Menu

Le CEM œuvre à habiliter les personnes et à leur donner les moyens de s’émanciper selon leurs capacités individuelles. Ses politiques et ses pratiques sont le reflet d’une structure organisationnelle organique dont les forces sont la souplesse et la mise à profit des ressources.
Jusqu’en 2021, le Centre Eva Marsden pour la justice sociale et le vieillissement était connu sous le nom du Conseil des aînées et des aînés de N.D.G. (CAANDG). En 2021, l'organisation a été rebaptisée Centre Eva Marsden pour la justice sociale et le vieillissement, en reconnaissance de son territoire plus large et de sa portée plus complète.
Le CEM œuvre à la défense des droits des personnes de 50 ans et plus. Nous intervenons au nom de ceux et celles qui vivent divers types de difficultés : logement, situation financière, accès aux services de santé ou relations interpersonnelles, entre autres. Nos programmes sont conçus en vue de réduire l’isolation sociale des personnes de 50 ans et plus à faible revenu. En offrant à nos membres des occasions d’échanger avec leurs semblables, nous créons un sentiment de communauté et d’appartenance.
1

Information et aiguillage

Aide aux personnes en cas de besoin de recherche d’information. Nous nous efforçons de mettre ces personnes en contact avec les ressources pertinentes à leur situation et de leur expliquer comment accéder aux services gouvernementaux ou privés dont ils pourraient avoir besoin.
2

Café Boomer

Le Café Boomer est géré en collaboration par le CEM et le Dépôt alimentaire N.D.G. Il offre un centre de jour hebdomadaire pour les personnes à faible revenu de 50+ et plus. Ce programme vise à soutenir le moral et à rehausser la qualité de vie des participants et participantes. Il inclut un repas nutritif, des séances de yoga, des sorties, des activités culturelles et éducatives ainsi qu’une rencontre de partage mensuelle où les membres s’échangent des objets et des vêtements dont ils n’ont plus besoin. Le Café Boomer donne l’occasion aux participants et participantes d’apprendre de nouvelles compétences et de partager les leurs avec le groupe, ainsi que d’offrir et de recevoir du soutien entre pairs.
3

Défense des droits individuels

Le service de défense des droits se veut une passerelle entre les personnes aînées et le secteur public. Que ce soit pour du soutien dans l’attente de services de travail social ou de besoins pratiques comme un climatiseur ou un dentier, le service vise une solution efficace, prompte et encourageante. Des évaluations sont menées, puis un plan d’intervention à court terme est élaboré. Alors que de nombreux secteurs publics tiennent de longues listes d’attente, ce service offre un soutien essentiel en temps utile et dans un esprit de bienveillance.

ABONNEZ-VOUS À NOTRE NEWSLETTER

RESTER CONNECTÉ

CONTACTS

(514) 484-1471

fax: (514) 484-1687

ndgcc@ndg.ca

Main Menu