SAINT-RAYMOND SECTOR

Saint-Raymond is a small but diverse neighbourhood at the southern edge of NDG, squeezed between the commuter rail tracks and the steep St-Jacques escarpment, with the Decarie expressway to the east and rue Cavendish as its western boundary. Historically an Italian neighbourhood – known to some as little Little Italy - Saint-Raymond today is a rich mix of languages and cultures, with an active community life. The neighbourhood has been of particular interest in recent years due to multiple nearby megaprojects that are greatly impacting the community - notably the new MUHC mega-hospital, and the ongoing reconstruction of the massive Turcot interchange. Traffic, commerce, rents, land-values, and the quality of the environment are all being significantly impacted by these projects.

NDG Saint-Raymond Sector

Portrait of Territory

St-Raymond is a residential neighbourhood with the traditional Montrealais plexes located in its secondary streets and 3 story mixed use buildings on main axes such as St-Jacques and Upper Lachine. The neighbourhood has many social housing buildings (HLM, OBNL and Coop), they are mostly located on Grand boulevard. There are many big box stores on St-Jacques, some of these stores are abandoned. The whole sector situated south St-Jacques is subject to re-development plan along with the Falaise St-Jacques. The neighbourhood has several pedestrian infrastructure crossing the railroad such as the Melrose tunnel on Melrose avenue., the passover on Grand boulevard and the Girouard underpass; However, these infrastructures are problematic in terms of security and comfort. Many activities were taking place in Melrose tunnel, especially in Halloween attempting to animate the area and familiarise residents with it (Click here for more on Melrose tunnel). St-Raymond has its own community center, which is located on Upper Lachine beside the parc George St-Pierre.

Community Priorities

  1. The integration of the MUHC;
  2. The impacts of the Turcot on traffic, circulation, and the local environment;
  3. The introduction of the new french primary school in the neighbourhood, opened in 2015;
  4. The revitalization of rue Upper Lachine for commerce and activity;
  5. The redesign of the intersection of Upper Lachine and de Maisonneuve;
  6. The availability of recreational and public amenities, including the development of an Art Hive collective;
  7. Road and pedestrian safety, especially in places such as the Melrose Tunnel and the Girouard underpass.

MOBILISATION: Residents Initiatives, Events, Projects

Mobilization of residents, organizations and institutions is one of the key roles to improve the life in this neighborhood.  NDG Community Council supports local initiatives, organizing local events in collaboration with other partners. Saint-Raymond Community Center playing a very important mission by keeping and providing activities, events & services for the residents (adults & children). 
  • Free Tax Clinics
  • Art-Hive
  • The Haunted Melrose Tunnel
  • Park (ing) Day
  • Jane Walk
  • Harvest  Festival
  • Italian Festival 

The Haunted Melrose Tunnel
For 9 consecutive years, Saint-Raymond residents have teamed up with the Council and the Saint-Raymond Community Centre to transform the Melrose Tunnel into a haunted hall of horrors for Halloween. This has included a family-friendly decoration-making events at the Community Centre, and the community coming together to hang decorations in the tunnel. In the last several years, the CDN-NDG Borough has pitched in to paint the tunnel in advance as well!
Melrose Tunnel Decoration
Falaise St. Jacques
Grand Boulevard
NDG Saint-Raymond Parking Day
NDG HalloweenDecoration Workshop StRaymond Sector
NDG Mural Upper Lachine
NDG Jane Walk 2021- NDGCC team at St-Raymond Grand Boulevard

CONCERTATION: St-Raymond neighbourhood committee

Comité de voisinage St-Raymond
The committee’s mission is to act as a catalyst for social and economic development by facilitating consultations, encouraging discussions and supporting residents and those who have a vested interest in the Saint-Raymond community at large in the planning and implementation of projects and activities. As a catalyst, the committee aims to empower residents and partners within the St-Raymond community, by providing initial support and creating a positive space in which they can further build a community which they envision.
MEMBERS
  1. NDG Community Council
  2. Arrondissement CDN-NDG
  3. St-Raymond Community Center
  4. LogisAction NDG 
  5. Prévention CDN-NDG
  6. CIUSSS Centre-Ouest de Montréal
  7. Habitation Communautaire NDG
  8. Habitation Communautaire et Solidaire Grand 
  9. SPVM
  10. Old Brewery Mission 
  11. Saint-Raymond primary school 
  12. NDG Art Hive 
HISTORY

DOCUMENTS & USEFUL LINKS


SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

STAY CONNECTED

CONTACTS

(514) 484-1471

fax: (514) 484-1687

ndgcc@ndg.ca

SECTEUR SAINT-RAYMOND

Saint-Raymond est un quartier petit mais diversifié à la limite sud de NDG, coincé entre les voies ferrées de banlieue et l'escarpement escarpé de St-Jacques, avec l'autoroute Décarie à l'est et la rue Cavendish comme limite ouest. Historiquement un quartier italien - connu pour certains comme la Petite Italie - Saint-Raymond est aujourd'hui un riche mélange de langues et de cultures, avec une vie communautaire active. Le quartier a suscité un intérêt particulier ces dernières années en raison de plusieurs mégaprojets à proximité qui ont un impact considérable sur la communauté, notamment le nouveau méga-hôpital du CUSM et la reconstruction en cours de l'énorme échangeur Turcot. La circulation, le commerce, les loyers, les valeurs foncières et la qualité de l'environnement sont tous fortement impactés par ces projets.

NDG Saint-Raymond Sector

Portrait de territoire

St-Raymond est un quartier résidentiel avec les plex traditionnels montréalais situés dans ses rues secondaires et des bâtiments à usage mixte de 3 étages sur les axes principaux tels que St-Jacques et Upper Lachine. Le quartier compte de nombreux immeubles de logements sociaux (HLM, OBNL et Coop), ils sont pour la plupart situés sur le Grand boulevard. Il y a plusieurs magasins à grande surface sur St-Jacques, certains de ces magasins sont abandonnés. L'ensemble du secteur situé au sud de St-Jacques fait l'objet d'un plan de réaménagement ainsi que la Falaise St-Jacques. Le quartier possède plusieurs infrastructures piétonnes traversant la voie ferrée telles que le tunnel Melrose sur l'avenue Melrose., la Pâque sur le Grand boulevard et le passage souterrain Girouard; Cependant, ces infrastructures sont problématiques en termes de sécurité et de confort. De nombreuses activités avaient lieu dans le tunnel Melrose, en particulier à Halloween pour tenter d'animer le quartier et de familiariser les résidents avec celui-ci (Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur le tunnel Melrose). St-Raymond possède son propre centre communautaire, qui est situé sur Upper Lachine à côté du parc George St-Pierre.

Priorités communautaires

  1. L'intégration du CUSM;
  2. Les impacts du Turcot sur la circulation, la circulation et l'environnement local ;
  3. L'implantation de la nouvelle école primaire française du quartier, inaugurée en 2015 ;
  4. La revitalisation de la rue Upper Lachine pour le commerce et l'activité;
  5. Le réaménagement de l'intersection Upper Lachine et de Maisonneuve;
  6. La disponibilité d'équipements récréatifs et publics, y compris le développement d'un collectif Art Hive ;
  7. Sécurité routière et piétonne, notamment à des endroits comme le tunnel Melrose et le passage souterrain Girouard.

MOBILISATION: ÉVÉNEMENTS ET PROJETS

La mobilisation des habitants, des organismes et des institutions est l'un des rôles clés pour améliorer la vie dans ce quartier. Conseil communautaire de NDG Soutient les initiatives locales en organisant des événements locaux en collaboration avec d'autres organisations. Centre communautaire SAINT-RAYMOND jouant une mission très importante en gardant et en offrant des activités, des événements et des services pour les résidents (adultes et enfants).
Le Tunnel hanté Melrose
Durant trois (9) années consécutives, les bénévoles et les résidents de Saint-Raymond ont fait équipe avec les élèves de l'école primaire Étoile Filante, avec le Conseil communautaire NDG et cette année avec l'EcoQuartier, pour transformer le tunnel Melrose en un couloir hanté à l'occasion d'Halloween. Des activités de décoration adaptées aux familles ont eu lieu au Centre Saint-Raymond. Ainsi, la communauté s'est réunie pour décorer le tunnel. Au cours des dernières années, l'arrondissement de CDN-NDG a défrayé les coûts de peinture du tunnel avant même la réalisation du projet !
Melrose Tunnel Decoration
La Falaise St. Jacques
Grand Boulevard
NDG Saint-Raymond Parking Day
NDG HalloweenDecoration Workshop StRaymond Sector
NDG Mural Upper Lachine
NDG Jane Walk 2021- NDGCC team at St-Raymond Grand Boulevard

CONCERTATION: Comité de voisinage St-Raymond

Comité de voisinage St-Raymond
La mission du comité est d'agir comme catalyseur de développement social et économique en facilitant les consultations, en favorisant les échanges et en soutenant les citoyens et les personnes qui ont un intérêt direct dans la communauté de Saint-Raymond dans son ensemble dans la planification et la mise en œuvre de projets et d'activités. En tant que catalyseur, le comité vise à responsabiliser les résidents et les partenaires au sein de la communauté de St-Raymond, en fournissant un soutien initial et en créant un espace positif dans lequel ils peuvent construire davantage une communauté qu'ils envisagent.
MEMBERS
  1. NDG Community Council
  2. Arrondissement CDN-NDG
  3. St-Raymond Community Center
  4. LogisAction NDG 
  5. Prévention CDN-NDG
  6. CIUSSS Centre-Ouest de Montréal
  7. Habitation Communautaire NDG
  8. Habitation Communautaire et Solidaire Grand 
  9. SPVM
  10. Old Brewery Mission 
  11. Saint-Raymond primary school 
  12. NDG Art Hive 
Histoire

DOCUMENTS ET LIENS UTILES


ABONNEZ-VOUS À NOTRE NEWSLETTER

RESTER CONNECTÉ

CONTACTS

(514) 484-1471

fax: (514) 484-1687

ndgcc@ndg.ca

Main Menu