BENNY SECTOR

Benny Farm is one of the four key sectors in NDG. The steering committee is in the process of changing the Benny Farm map to include all the residents and partners that we work with. The new neighborhood boundary includes; Terrebonne St. on the North and Sherbrooke Street W. on the south and Madison Av.on the East and Prince of Wales Av. on the West. The Council approached various stakeholders and key actors within the community including residents and partners working in the sector in order to voice their concerns and visions for Benny Farm

NDG Benny Farm Sector

Portrait of Territory

Benny Farm is a mixture of both social, private housing and organizations. It represents a vital number of lower-cost housing units in Notre-Dame-de-Grâce. Benny is home to a variety of people from different cultural and social background, including young families, single-parent families, senior citizens and people living with disabilities.

Statistics

Benny Farm has the highest percentage of low income residents earning less than $30 000, with a significant number of residents earning less than $7000 a year, alternatively we also have a high percentage of residents earning $200 000. It is the largest disparity of wealth in the neighbourhood.

MOBILISATION: Residents Initiatives, Activities, Events, Projects

NDG Benny Farm Sector

The information obtained from the census tract and the door-to-door outreach done in the area provided strong evidence that intervention is needed on the ground. Benny Farm has the optics of being rich in resources; Benny Farm has the largest number of social housing in the neighbourhood, a community centre, a youth health centre, a library, sport centre, cultural centre, public transportation, a good food market, grocery stores and a pharmacy. Our scope has shifted to include Madison, West Hill, Montclair and Walkley (Between Sherbrooke and De Maisonneuve). The priorities in Benny Farm are insalubrious conditions in housing, housing projects that collapsed, income disparity, food security, mental health support and drug addiction.

  • Community gardens
  • Clean-up Day
  • Arts and crafts activities for children
  • Community meals
  • Lunar New Year
  • Skate exchanges
  • Sugar Shack visit
  • Borough meetings
  • Jane’s Walk
  • Parking Day
  • Halloween
  • Two neighbourhood committee meetings; 3 individual meetings with partners, a statistical portrait, door to door on Madison, building relationships with partners city wide. Creating links with the concierge and the owners of buildings on Madison and 6310 Sherbrooke St W. We worked with all of the landlords that had to evacuate, we made links with other social housing organisations to help keep residents in NDG.
  • Working with SHDM to find a solution to the waste management situation within Sherbrooke Forest to create a liveable outdoor environment. We aim to work together to resolve these issues as it has a strong impact on the immediate neighbourhood.
  • Residents of Benny Farm actively benefits from the Good Food Market. 
Results Successfully linked landlords with housing alternatives, empowered residents to contact 311 and to attend borough council. Alternatively some institutions are actively collaborating with the homeowners to address challenges posed by the social issues to mitigate their impact.
NDG Benny Farm Sector
NDG Benny Farm Sector
NDG Benny Farm Sector
NDG Benny Farm Sector

CONCERTATION: Benny-Farm Sherbrooke Collective

NDG Benny Farm Sector
The Benny Farm Collective (BFC) is a group of residents and partners who work together to improve services and contribute to community life in the immediate area of Benny Farm. The Collective works to reach a wide audience and find solutions for locals through sharing resources, creating opportunities for organisations and addressing concerns. It also brings diversity, helps members gain new perspectives and learn new skills. Acting as a group encourages task sharing, which means committing to showing up to all events is not necessary for all members, therefore reducing administrative burdens. New members are always welcome. The BFC has 14 members that meet 4 times per year (in addition to some ad hoc meetings when needed).
  • CJE NDG
  • Head and Hands
  • O3 On Our Own
  • SPVM
  • Prevention CDN NDG
  • SHDM
  • NDG Housing Table
  • Velorution
  • Logis Action
  • St Monica’s Church
  • Eva Marsden Center
  • The Depot Community Food Centre

DOCUMENTS & USEFUL LINKS

NDG Benny Farm Sector

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

STAY CONNECTED

CONTACTS

(514) 484-1471

fax: (514) 484-1687

ndgcc@ndg.ca

Main Menu

SECTEUR BENNY

En 2008, une initiative de développement communautaire est née en partenariat entre le Conseil communautaire de NDG et un comité de représentants des projets sur le site de Benny Farm. Le but est de construire un tissu social et un réseau citoyen forts au sein de la communauté de Benny Farm. En abordant des problèmes tels que la sécurité, la nutrition, l’alphabétisation et la médiation en cas de conflit, nous répondons en même temps aux besoins des résidants de Benny Farm.

NDG Benny Farm Sector

Portrait de territoire

Benny Farm est un mélange de logements sociaux, privés et d'organisations. Il représente un nombre important d'unités de logement à coût abordable à Notre-Dame-de-Grâce. Benny abrite une variété de personnes issues de milieux culturels et sociaux différents, notamment des jeunes familles, des familles monoparentales, des personnes âgées et des personnes vivant avec des handicaps.

Statistiques

Benny Farm a le pourcentage le plus élevé de résidents à faible revenu gagnant moins de 30 000 $, avec un nombre important de résidents gagnant moins de 7000 $ par an, mais nous avons aussi un pourcentage élevé de résidents gagnant 200 000 $. Il s'agit de la plus grande disparité de richesse dans le quartier.

MOBILISATION: ÉVÉNEMENTS ET PROJETS

NDG Benny Farm Sector
Les informations obtenues à partir du recensement et les porte-à-portes effectués dans la zone ont fourni des preuves solides de la nécessité d'une intervention sur le terrain. Benny Farm a l'apparence d'être riche en ressources ; Benny Farm a le plus grand nombre de logements sociaux dans le quartier, un centre communautaire, un centre de santé pour les jeunes, une bibliothèque, un centre sportif, un centre culturel, des transports publics, un bon marché d'alimentation, des épiceries et une pharmacie. Notre champ d'action s'est élargi pour inclure Madison, West Hill, Montclair et Walkley (entre Sherbrooke et De Maisonneuve). Les priorités de Benny Farm sont l'insalubrité des logements, les projets d'habitation qui se sont effondrés, la disparité des revenus, la sécurité alimentaire, le soutien à la santé mentale et la toxicomanie.
  • Community gardens
  • Clean-up Day
  • Arts and crafts activities for children
  • Community meals
  • Lunar New Year
  • Skate exchanges
  • Sugar Shack visit
  • Borough meetings
  • Jane’s Walk
  • Parking Day
  • Halloween
  • Deux réunions du comité de quartier ; 3 rencontres individuelles avec des partenaires, un portrait statistique, porte à porte sur Madison, établissement de relations avec des partenaires à l'échelle de la ville. Création de liens avec le concierge et les propriétaires des immeubles de Madison et du 6310 Sherbrooke. Nous avons travaillé avec tous les propriétaires qui ont dû évacuer, nous avons établi des liens avec d'autres organisations de logement social pour aider les résidents à rester à NDG.
  • Nous avons travaillé avec la SHDM pour trouver une solution à la gestion des déchets dans Sherbrooke Forest afin de créer un environnement extérieur vivable. Nous avons l'intention de travailler ensemble pour résoudre ces problèmes car ils ont un impact important sur le voisinage immédiat.
  • Les résidents de Benny Farm ont participé et bénéficié d'Ensemble en Décembre, Benny Farm bénéficie activement du Marché Bonne Bouffe. 


Résultats Mise en relation réussie des propriétaires avec des alternatives de logement, habilitation des résidents à contacter le 311 et à se rendre au conseil d'arrondissement. Par ailleurs, certaines institutions collaborent activement avec les propriétaires pour relever les défis posés par les problèmes sociaux afin d'en atténuer l'impact.
NDG Benny Farm Sector
NDG Benny Farm Sector
NDG Benny Farm Sector
NDG Benny Farm Sector

CONCERTATION: Collectif Benny Farm-Sherbrooke

NDG Benny Farm Sector
Le Collectif Benny Farm est un groupe de résidents et de partenaires qui travaillent ensemble pour améliorer les services et contribuer à la vie communautaire dans la région immédiate de Benny Farm. Le Collectif s'efforce de toucher un large public et de trouver des solutions pour les habitants en partageant les ressources, en créant des opportunités pour les organisations et en répondant aux préoccupations. Il apporte également de la diversité, aide ses membres à acquérir de nouvelles perspectives et à acquérir de nouvelles compétences. Le fait d'agir en groupe encourage le partage des tâches, ce qui signifie qu'il n'est pas nécessaire que tous les membres s'engagent à participer à tous les événements, ce qui réduit les charges administratives. Les nouveaux membres sont toujours les bienvenus. Le BFC compte 14 membres qui se réunissent 4 fois par an (En plus de quelques réunions ad hoc lorsque cela est nécessaire).
  • CJE NDG
  • Head and Hands
  • O3 On Our Own
  • SPVM
  • Prevention CDN NDG
  • SHDM
  • NDG Housing Table
  • Velorution
  • Logis Action
  • St Monica’s Church
  • Eva Marsden Center
  • The Depot Community Food Centre

SERVICES : INFORMATION ET RESSOURCES

Bibliothèque Benny NDG
Monkland Center NDG
Centre sportif de Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
NDG Benny Farm Sector

ABONNEZ-VOUS À NOTRE NEWSLETTER

RESTER CONNECTÉ

CONTACTS

(514) 484-1471

fax: (514) 484-1687

ndgcc@ndg.ca

Main Menu